磨损板制造过程

耐磨板的制造工艺和制造

耐磨板制造过程和制造手册:本手册阐述了有关如何切割,创建和制作耐磨覆膜耐磨板的实用细节。如果没有特别说明,那么我们将提供详细的过程细节,以应用于结构碳钢基材的标准成分等级的覆盖层。对于覆盖耐磨板有重要说明,例如在需要时提供高强度钢或不锈钢基底。

关于WALDUN耐磨板范围的详细信息

WALDUN覆盖耐磨板的范围是为了在环境温度或更高温度下抵抗磨损,侵蚀和冲击而建立的。范围包括沉积在合金基材或碳钢上的各种碳化钨合金或表面硬化铬。

但是,等离子弧焊是切割覆盖板的最佳方法,因此值得推荐。由于表面堆焊层中高铬和高碳含量的事实,阻碍了氧气燃料和几乎所有机械手段的使用。极硬的覆盖合金和延展性基材的这些特殊性能使这些材料能够制造和制造成复杂的形状,例如凸形或凹形曲线。

通常将不同类型的方法(例如塞焊,螺栓连接和螺柱焊接)用于将耐磨衬套安装到结构中。可以通过耐磨板制造过程中碳钢基材的常规焊接来制造制造品。

耐磨板制造工艺| 切割过程

在耐磨板制造过程中|切割过程中,WALDUN的钨和碳化铬合金表面堆焊层都像不锈钢一样。同时,这阻止了对其使用常规的剪切或氧燃料火焰切割工艺。但是,可以使用这三种切割方法中的任何一种。它们是碳弧,等离子弧或磨料锯。

以下是有关使用不同切割工艺的完整细节;

等离子弧切割方法: 

使用空气或惰性气体等离子弧方法,可以通过手持或机载割炬轻松切割所有覆盖耐磨板,甚至具有特殊基材的覆盖耐磨板。典型的系统具有150安培电源的下限,并且所使用的安培数越高,切割速度就越快。

此外,可以从任一侧切割覆盖耐磨板,但是为了与通过此过程形成的自然斜面相匹配。最好从合金一侧进行切削。同样,应该修改切割速度以降低炉渣在板下方的堆积。

碳弧切割方法:

碳弧切割也可以称为气刨。在这种特定方法中,通常的恒流DC焊接电源和压缩空气供应的最小OCV为60伏特或80伏特,这是大多数时候最好的碳弧切割和气刨。建议电弧电压在35至56伏范围内。

下表包含镀铜气刨棒的典型参数。

直径 安培(直流反极性)最小气流 
高达6.3mm1/4”250-400A3cfm @ 40磅/平方英寸100升/分钟@ 3巴
9.5mm及以上3/8″350-600A6cfm @ 90磅/平方英寸200公升/分钟@ 6巴

但是,在碳弧焊中,应先绘制出切割线,然后从板材的碳钢侧面进行切割。然后继续打孔以确保整个过程中具有足够的可见性。最重要的是,在从基材一侧切割板后,要努力用磨料磨盘除去所有炉渣。

磨料锯方法:

使用装有碳化硅轮的砂轮锯,可以实现有限的直线切割。

冷成型

多数标准等级的WALDUN覆盖耐磨板都可以通过辊或折弯机冷成型为圆锥形或弧形零件。同时,WALDUN仅具有最小的成型能力,并且许多特定的铬/钨和碳化钨牌号可以最有效地用作制造品和扁平型材。

滚动方向

在任何可能的时间,应在轧制方向上形成具有焊缝结构的钢板。

最小直径

可以形成WALDUN覆盖板的最小允许直径取决于基材的类型,板的厚度以及弯头是凸面(合金面向外)还是凹面(合金面向内)。

下表显示的冷成型板的典型最小直径:

瓦尔顿 年级标称基材厚度最小凹面直径最小直径凸
3.2-6.3mm(1/8” – 2/4”)的单层覆盖9.5公厘(3/8吋)400公厘(10吋)250公厘(16吋)
8.0-12.5mm(5/16“ – 3/8”)的双层覆盖12.5毫米(1/2英寸)450公厘(16吋)400公厘(18吋)

此外,在使用压紧辊或棱锥时,更可取的是,顶辊用套筒覆盖,以免损坏表面堆焊。另外,此部件需要用12mm(1/2“)厚的碳素钢制造,且确切尺寸要比卷筒直径大50mm(2”),以实现安装和拆卸并避免粘结。

但是,从最小直径的管道施加制动压力时,圆锥和方形到圆形过渡。最好采用液压机以获得高质量的结果。也可以使用阴模和阳模执行成型,在“ V”形块上采用半径主工具(最小38cm / 11/2英寸)。

热成型

在热成型中,对于厚度大于20mm(3/4'')的成型,可以通过施加热量的方式来辅助成型,该方法可以是使用局部方法(应用宽火焰氧气割炬),也可以通过常规方法对炉中较大的部分进行加热。为了确保板的性能没有明显变化,热成型温度不应超过650°C(1,200°F),且炉子浸泡时间不得超过一小时。也许在极少数情况下可以使用高温。

此外,可以直接从WALDUN获得有关形成单个板厚,等级和特定成形技术的更多细节。在制造从正方形到圆形的过渡过程中,仅当需要90°角时才批准热成型。

特殊基材:

然而,在应用高强度合金钢基底的情况下,无论是冷成形还是热成形,都将需要额外的动力来将板成形为与常规碳素钢基底相同的直径。

制造

可以使用焊接工艺将不同的扁平型材和成形段加工成更大的物件或完成的结构。衬套可以通过螺栓连接或通过不同的焊接技术固定到现有的结构上。另外,每种结构焊缝都必须适用于基材。

角焊的固定方法

将WALDUN覆盖板连接到现有结构的最简单方法是通过角焊。必须采取足够的谨慎措施,以确保仅将焊缝应用于基材,而不会使其覆盖在堆焊层或焊缝上。因为这会导致碳污染和焊缝脆化。最好通过将圆角停在合金/基板接口下方精确3mm(1/8“)的位置来进行,并且应该在地面边缘清晰可见。

可以使用这三种常规焊接工艺中的任何一种,例如:

使用实心焊丝的气体保护金属电弧焊(GMAW)。

屏蔽金属电弧焊(美国– SMAW)/手工金属电弧焊(英国– MMA)

使用气体保护焊丝或明弧焊丝进行药芯焊丝电弧焊(FCAW)。

焊条/焊丝的选择

焊条的选择发生在叠层板具有标准碳钢基底和要敲打的板的结构的地方。而且,它由碳钢或不需要预热的钢组成。因此,可以应用以下几类消耗品:

用于CO2焊接的实心焊丝:AWS A5.18 – ER70S-3 EN440 G / W 2Si或ER70S-6 EN440 G3 Si1

涂层棒:AWSA5.1-E7016EN499E424B12HS或E7018EN499E463B32HS

药芯焊丝:AWS A5.20 – E70T-1 EN758 T460 RC3H10或E71T-1 EN758 T463 PM1HS。

但是,如果结构构件需要预热,则可能是由于其化学成分,屈服强度或厚度。然后,应根据该基材的标准做法选择焊条或焊丝的等级。

例如:AWS A5.5 – E8018B2(EN 1599 ECr.Mo1 B32HS)

但是,如果WALDUN覆盖层具有合金或不锈钢基底,并且要焊接的结构是高合金锰钢,超硬钢,304不锈钢或OratypeAISI-410不锈钢。因此,应使用合适的其他金属合金,例如AWS A5.4 – E309(EN1600 E23.12 LR21)不锈钢棒(电极)或金属丝。

塞焊的安装方法

在这种方法中,WALDUN覆盖板可以通过一系列孔的塞焊连接到另一块板或结构上。每个孔的间距至少应为25mm(1英寸直径-完美设置在300mm-600mm的范围内)。

应该使用碳弧气刨或等离子弧切割方法从基板侧切割固定孔。这将有助于避免铬和碳污染碳钢。但是,对于厚度为9.5mm(3/8“)及以上的气刨板,最建议在开始气刨之前,先将孔钻入基材中,直到合金界面不足。

另外,应通过打磨或锤击清除固定孔中的所有炉渣。然后通过将孔的外径焊接360°将板连接到结构,然后将剩余空间填满。

但是,采用与角焊相同的方法,将用于确定焊缝的厚度,并且应距覆盖合金层短3mm。一旦将焊缝填充到适当的容量,就可以使用WALDUN Armolloy管状表面硬化棒(电极)用合适的耐磨合金进行封盖,从而防止焊缝磨损。

螺柱焊接的安装方法

通过这种方法,可以使用多种类型的螺柱焊接设备将普通的碳素钢螺柱轻松焊接到WALDUN覆盖板的背面。螺柱尺寸的最小要求是19mm(3/4“),螺柱的数量和间距将取决于所连接板的尺寸和形状。

直径大于12.5mm(1/2'')的螺柱可以通过操作E7018棒的手动金属电弧焊程序进行手工焊接。因此,仅应用角焊缝而不是全熔透焊缝,将需要更多数量的螺柱来固定板。

沉头螺栓的固定方法

埋头螺栓的合适孔可通过轨道工具柱通过直接等离子弧切割方法,通过刺穿或刨平直孔并在适当位置焊接预加工的推力来制造,或通过直接钻孔或刨光的组合方式来制造。

最小建议的螺栓尺寸为9.5毫米(3/8英寸)直径,所需的数量和间距也将取决于板的尺寸和形状。完整的埋头孔应允许平头螺栓位于平板表面以下4mm处。但是,可以使用正确的WALDUN Armalloy管状表面堆焊焊条进行封盖,以防止磨损。

直接等离子弧穿孔

通过直接等离子弧穿孔,您可以制造合适的埋头孔。同时,从硬面侧加工时,应先切出直接通孔。接下来是使用倾斜的等离子炬以适合固定螺栓的角度切割埋头部分。

预加工刀片

特定的预加工刀片可用于修复覆盖板,方法是先在板中切割一个直接孔,然后将碳钢一侧的推力焊接到位。强烈建议从板的硬面进行等离子弧切割。由于它建立了一个普通的锥形孔,因此可以为刀片提供更多帮助。

插入件应以约3度的锥度装配以适合孔,并在底座上切出倒角的焊缝成分。还可以使用低氢电极(AWS 5.1 – E7018或7016型)从碳钢侧面将其焊接到位。

挖沟

如果无法进行等离子弧切割,通常会在现场使用此技术。此外,如果需要大量的孔,则更建议使用焊接刀片,而主要应使用气刨来切削间隙孔。

一种替代方法适用于一个或两个孔,包括从碳钢侧面刨削一个直孔。然后通过从硬面一侧刨削锥度来形成埋头部分。圆锥/塞子形的磨石可以用来清理孔。

结构焊接

WALDUN覆盖耐磨板可通过使用普通低碳钢或低氢焊条焊接低碳钢基材来制造。以下信息是焊接WALDUN覆盖耐磨板的一般信息。

应采取足够的谨慎措施,以确保所有结构焊缝的末端均不超过堆焊合金层。在钢板的硬表面部分上进行的唯一焊接将包括用合适的WALDUN Armalloy管状表面堆焊焊条封盖,以保护磨损。

角焊缝

在角焊中,它涉及对板的边缘进行打磨以消除切割时残留的所有炉渣和水垢。需要最大的指导以确保焊缝仅在基材上使用,并且不与堆焊层或其熔深区重叠。否则,可能导致碳污染和焊缝及附近区域的脆化。但是,最好通过在覆盖层/基板界面下方3毫米(1/8英寸)处精确地终止圆角来实现。从而有助于更清晰地观察地面边缘。

对接焊缝

对接焊是部分熔深的一种,它涉及通过火焰切割或气刨将斜角切入碳钢基底。

必须留出2mm至3mm(1 / 16-1 / 8“)的焊盘,以避免在焊接过程中烧穿到硬面层。装配并钉固段,然后采用与传统连接类似的方法进行焊接。

全熔透对接焊缝需要通过从焊缝部位打磨/回切至少6mm(1/4'')来从接头区域永久去除硬面(涉及合金熔透区)。装配并钉紧斜角段,然后应用与常规连接类似的技术。

焊接技术和耗材选择 在耐磨板制造过程中

在该耐磨板的制造过程中,焊道不应熔化根部进入硬化表面,因为这会导致碳污染和焊缝脆化。 必须实施大部分用于C-Mn钢结构焊接的焊接材料,并应使用常规焊接工艺。例如;

AWS 5.1E7018(SMAW)
AWS A5.18带有75%氩气25%CO²的E703-6(GMAW)
AWS A5.20E70T-1(FCAW)

请注意,在制造过程中很难以足够的精度进行对准,以确保在耐磨板制造过程中不会因表面硬化而造成任何形式的污染。然后,最好使用309型不锈钢焊条(焊条)。


耐磨板制造工艺总结

耐磨板的制造工艺可确保在形成折弯机时始终使用圆角的顶部工具。

确保没有堆焊可以污染或污染焊缝。如果不确定,请在制造时使用AWS A5.4 – E309不锈钢易损件。

利用常规的焊接材料和制造工艺来满足基材要求。

同样,用WALDUN Armolloy系列的类似表面堆焊焊条在端面上盖住接头。

实际应用实例

角焊缝:

为确保角焊时不因表面硬化而造成污染的条或条。

淬火停止在板边缘附近,或通过气刨消除,从而制造出低碳钢带

通过在接头上焊接碳钢角钢或通过仅使用角钢支撑将其去除,可以进一步加强角焊缝。

WEAR PLATE MANUFACTURING PROCESS

Wear Plate Manufacturing Process and fabrication

WEAR PLATE MANUFACTURING PROCESS AND FABRICATION MANUAL: This manual states practical details on how to cut, create and fabricate wear-resistant overlay wear plates. If not otherwise specified, then the processes we are going to give rundown details of applying to standard compositional grades of overlay with structural carbon steel substrates. There are important instructions for overlay wear plates with, such as high strength steel or stainless alloy substrates are made available where needed.

Details about WALDUN Wear Plates Ranges

The WALDUN overlay wear plates ranges which were established to resist abrasion, erosion and impact at either ambient or higher temperatures. The ranges consist of various tungsten carbide alloys or hardfacing chromium deposited onto an alloy substrate or carbon steel.

However, Plasma-arc has been the best method of the cutting overlay plate and is well recommended. Due to the fact that high chromium and carbon contents of the hardfacing overlay hinder the use of oxy-fuel and almost all mechanical means. These particular properties of the very hard overlay alloy and a ductile substrate enables these materials to be manufactured and fabricated into complex shapes, such as convex or concave curves.

Different types of methods such as plug welding, bolting and stud welding are normal use for installation of the wear resistance liners into structures. Fabrications can be manufactured by conventional welding of the carbon steel substrate in wear plate manufacturing process.

wear plate manufacturing process | CUTTING PROCESS

In the wear plate manufacturing process | cutting process, both WALDUN’s tungsten and chromium carbide alloy hardfacing overlay put on an act like stainless steel. Meanwhile, this prevents the use of conventional shearing or oxy-fuel flame cutting processes for it. However, any of these 3 cutting methods can be used. They are Carbon arc, plasma arc or Abrasive saw.

Here are the full details about the different cutting processes use below;

Plasma Arc Cutting Method: 

All overlay wear plates, even those with special substrate can be cut with ease making use of a handheld or machine mounted torch by the use of either air or inert gas plasma-arc method. The typical systems feature a lower limit of 150 amp power supplies and the higher the amperage used, the quicker the cutting speed can be accomplished.

Moreover, overlay wear plates can be cut from either side, but in order to fit in with the natural bevel formed by this process. It is best that cutting occurs from the alloy side. Also, the cutting speed should be modified to lower the accumulation of slag on the underneath of the plate.

Carbon Arc Cutting Method:

Carbon Arc cutting can also be known as Gouging. In this particular method, a conventional constant current DC welding power supply and compressed air supply, with a minimal OCV of 60Volts or 80Volts which is most time the best is needed for carbon arc cutting and gouging. An arc voltage within the range of 35 to 56volts is advisable.

In the table below contain the typical parameters for copper-coated gouging rods.

Diameter Amperage (DC Reverse Polarity)Minimal Air Flow 
Up to 6.3mm1/4”250-400A3cfm @ 40psi100 l/min @ 3 Bar
9.5mm & upward3/8″350-600A6cfm @ 90psi200 l/min @ 6 Bar

However, in carbon arc, the cutting should be done from the carbon steel side of the plate by first sketching out the cutting lines. And then proceed to dot punching to make sure there’s enough visibility throughout the process. Most importantly, endeavour to get rid of all slag with an abrasive grinding disc after cutting plates from the substrate side.

Abrasive Saw Method:

With abrasive saw fitting with silicon carbide wheel, limited straight-line cutting can be accomplished.

Cold Forming

Majority standard grade of WALDUN overlay wear plates can be cold-formed into conical or curved parts employing either rolls or press brakes. Meanwhile, WALDUN has only minimal form-capability and a number of a particular chromium/tungsten and tungsten carbide grades can most effective use as fabrications and flat profiles.

Direction of Rolling

At any time achievable, plates should be formed with the weld beads structured within the direction of rolling.

Minimum Diameter

The least approved diameter to which WALDUN overlay plate can be formed will be determined by the type of substrate, thickness of the plate and whether the bend is convex (with alloy facing on the outside) or concave (with alloy facing on the inside).

Typical least diameters for cold forming plate shown in the table below:

WALDUN GradesNominal substrate thicknessesMinimum Diameter ConcaveMinimum Diameter Convex
Single layer overlays from 3.2-6.3mm )1/8” – 2/4”)9.5mm (3/8”)400mm (10”)250mm (16”)
Double layer overlays from 8.0-12.5mm (5/16” – 3/8”)12.5mm (1/2”)450mm (16”)400mm (18”)

Moreover, when making use of pinch rolls or pyramid, it’s more advisable that the top roll is covered with a sleeve to avoid destruction to the hardfacing. Also, this need to be fabricated from 12mm (1/2″) thick carbon steel and exact size of 50mm (2″) bigger than the roll diameter to enable installation and elimination and to avoid binding.

However, when applying a brake press from minimum diameter pipe, cones and square to round transitions. It’s best that a hydraulic press is adopted for quality results. Forming can also be executed with a female and male die, employing a radiuses main tool (minimum of 38cm/ 11/2″) over a ‘V’ block.

Hot Forming

In hot forming, for thickness greater than 20mm (3/4″) forming could be aided by the implementation of heat either by local method that’s applying a broad flame oxy-gas torch or through a general method for bigger sections in a furnace. In order to be sure that there are no obvious changes in the properties of the plate, hot forming temperatures shouldn’t be over 650°C (1,200°F), with furnace soaking times of not more than one hour. Perhaps, high temperatures can be used in some rare circumstances.

In addition, more details on forming individual plate thickness, grades and specific forming techniques can be gotten straight from WALDUN. During fabricating square to round transitions, hot forming is only endorsed when 90° corners are required.

Special Substrates:

However, in a situation where high strength alloy steel substrates are applied, be it in cold or hot forming, extra power will be needed to form the plate to the exact diameters as conventional carbon steel substrates.

FABRICATION

Different Flat profiles and formed segments can be fabricated into bigger items or completed structures making use of welding processes.  Liners may be fastened to already existing structures through bolting or via different welding techniques. In addition, every structural welds need to be applicable to the substrate.

Methods of attachment for Fillet Welding

The simplest method for connecting WALDUN overlay plate to an existing structure is through the fillet weld. Enough caution must be taken to make sure that the weld is only applied to the substrate without having it overlay the hardfacing or its penetration. Because this can result in carbon pollution and embrittlement of the weld. And it’s best carried out through stopping the fillet at exact 3mm (1/8″) below the alloy/base plate interface and it should be well visible on a ground edge.

Any of these three general welding processes can be used such as:

Gas metal arc welding (GMAW) by use of solid wire.

Shielded metal arc welding (US – SMAW) / Manual metal arc welding (UK – MMA)

Flux-cored arc welding (FCAW) by use of gas shielded or open arc wires.

Selection of welding rods/wires

Selection of welding rods occurs in the place where the overlaid plate has a standard carbon steel substrate and the structure towards the plate that is to be struck. Also, it consists of carbon steel or steel that doesn’t need preheat. Hence the following categories of consumables can be applied such as:

Solid Wire for CO2 welding:  AWS A5.18 – ER70S-3 EN440 G/W 2Si or ER70S-6 EN440 G3 Si1

Coatedrods:AWSA5.1-E7016EN499E424B12HSorE7018EN499E463B32HS

Flux-cored wires:  AWS A5.20 – E70T-1 EN758 T460 RC3H10 or E71T-1 EN758 T463 PM1HS.

But, if the structural member needs preheat, maybe due to its chemical composition, yield strength or thickness. Then a grade of welding rod or wire should be selected in accordance with standard practice for that base material.

For instance:  AWS A5.5 – E8018B2 (EN 1599 ECr.Mo1 B32HS)

However, if the WALDUN overlay has an alloy or a stainless steel substrate and the structure for it to be welded is a high alloy manganese steel, by-hardened steel, a 304 stainless alloy oratypeAISI-410 stainless alloy. Therefore an appropriate different metal alloy, for example, an AWS A5.4 – E309 (EN1600 E23.12 LR21) stainless type rod (electrode) or wire should be applied.

Methods of Attachment for Plug Welding

In this method, the WALDUN overlay plate can be connected to another plate or structure through plug welding by a series of holes.  Each of the holes is expected to have at least a minimum of 25mm (1-inch diameter – perfectly set at the range of 300mm – 600mm) spacing.

Either carbon-arc gouging or plasma-arc cutting method should be used to cut the fixing holes from the substrate side. This will help to avoid chromium and carbon contaminating carbon steel. However, with gouging plates of thickness 9.5mm (3/8″) and above, it is most advisable that the hole is first drilled into the substrate to end short of the alloy interface before beginning with gouging.

Also, every slag should be eliminated from the fixing holes through grinding or hammering. The plate is then connected to the structure through welding the outside diameter of the hole by 360° and then proceeds with filing the remaining space up.

However, employing the same method as for fillet welding, it will be used to decide the thickness of the weld and should end 3mm short of the overlay alloy layer. The weld is prevented from abrasion through capping with the appropriate wear resistant alloy using WALDUN Armolloy tubular hardfacing rods (electrodes) once the weld is filled up to the right capacity.

Method of Attachment for Stud Welding

In this method, a common carbon steel stud can be welded with easy to the back of the WALDUN overlay plate make use of many types of stud welding equipment. The least requirement for stud size is 19mm (3/4″) and the number and spacing of the studs will rely on the size and shape of the plate being connected.

Studs with a diameter higher than 12.5mm (1/2″) may be hand welded with the manual metal arc procedure operating an E7018 rod. Due to this, only a fillet weld is applied rather than a full penetration weld, a higher quantity of studs will be required to fasten the plate.

Methods of attachment for Countersunk Bolts

The appropriate holes for countersunk bolts may be manufactured by direct plasma arc cutting method by an orbital tool post, through piercing or gouging a straight hole and welding a pre-machined thrust in place, or through the means of composition of direct drilling or gouging.

The least advisable bolt size is 9.5mm (3/8″) diameter and the number and spacing needed will depend also upon the size and shape of the plate. The completed countersunk hole should permit the flat-headed bolt to sit at exact 4mm below the surface of the plate. However, capping can be used to preserve it from abrasion with the right WALDUN Armalloy tubular hardfacing electrode.

Direct Plasma Arc Piercing

In direct plasma arc piercing, you manufacture a suitable countersunk hole. Meanwhile, the direct clearance hole should be cut first when working from the hardfaced side. And next is to cut the countersunk part at an angle to suit the fixing bolt using the plasma torch tilted.

Pre-machined Inserts

The specific pre-machined inserts can be used to restore overlay plates by first cutting a direct hole in the plate and welding the thrust in place from the carbon steel side. It’s well recommended to apply Plasma arc cutting from the hardfaced side of the plate. Due to the fact that it establishes a normal tapered hole which gives more aid for the insert.

The insert should be assembled with a taper of about 3 degrees to fit the hole and a chamfered weld composition cut into the base. This is also welded into place from the carbon steel side utilizing a low hydrogen electrode (AWS 5.1 – E7018 or 7016 type).

Gouging

This technique is generally used on-site if plasma-arc cutting is unavailable. Moreover, if a large quantity of holes is needed, then it’s more recommendable to use welded inserts and gouging should mainly be use to cut the clearance hole.

A substitute method is made available for one or two holes including gouging a straight hole from the carbon steel side. The countersunk part is then formed through gouging a taper from the hardfaced side. The abrasive cone/plug shaped grinding stones can be used to clear the holes.

STRUCTURAL WELDING

WALDUN overlay wear plates may be fabricated through welding the mild steel substrate using ordinary mild steel or low hydrogen electrodes. The following information is a general lead to welding WALDUN overlay wear plates.

Enough caution should be taken to make sure that all structural welds end short of the hardfacing alloy layer. The only welding achieved on the hardfaced part of the plate will include the capping of joints, for wear preservation, with a suitable WALDUN Armalloy tubular hardfacing electrode.

Fillet welds

In fillet weld, it involves grinding the edge of the plate to eliminate all slag and scale remaining from cutting. Maximum guidance is needed to make sure that the weld is used on the substrate only and it doesn’t overlap the hardfacing or its penetration zone. If not, it can cause carbon pollution and embrittlement of the weld and the adjacent area. However, it is best accomplished by terminating the fillet exactly at 3mm (1/8″) below the overlay/base plate interface. Thereby aiding with clearer visibility on the ground edge.

Butt Welds

Butt weld is a type of partial penetration which involve cutting a bevel into the carbon steel base either through flame cutting or gouging.

A 2mm to 3mm (1/16-1/8″) ‘land’ must be left to avoid it burning-through to the hardfaced layer during the welding process.  Fit and tack segments, afterwards weld by applying a similar method as conventional joining.

Full penetration butt welds need the hardfacing (involving alloy penetration zone) to be permanently eliminated from the joint area by grinding/gouging back to at a minimum 6mm (1/4″) past the weld joint part.  Fit and tack the bevelled segments, afterwards apply a similar technique as conventional joining.

Welding Technique and Consumable Selection in wear plate manufacturing process

During this wear plate manufacturing process, the land shouldn’t melt root pass into the hardfacing as this can cause carbon pollution and embrittlement of the weld. Welding consumables mostly make use of for structural welding of C-Mn steels must be implemented and conventional welding process should be used. For instance;

AWS 5.1E7018 (SMAW)
AWS A5.18E703-6 (GMAW) with75% Argon 25% CO²
AWS A5.20E70T-1 (FCAW)

Be aware that where the fabrication finds it hard to align with enough accuracy to make sure that no contamination of any form by the hardfacing is likely during wear plate manufacturing process. Then it is best advisable to use a 309 type stainless steel welding rod (electrode).


SUMMARY OF WEAR PLATE MANUFACTURING PROCESS

Wear plate manufacturing prccess ensure to always use a radiused top tool when forming a press brake.

Make sure that no hardfacing can contaminate or pollute the welds. If not completely sure, then use an AWS A5.4 – E309 Stainless steel consumable when undergoing fabrication.

Make use of conventional welding consumables and processes for fabrication to meet the substrate requirements.

Also, Cap joints on the facing side with a similar hardfacing electrode from the WALDUN Armolloy range.

Examples of Practical Application

Fillet Welds:

A bar or strip which is necessary to ensure no contamination by the hardfacing when fillet welding.

Hardfacing ceased short of plate edge, or elimination by gouging, manufacturing a mild steel land

Fillet welds can be more intensify by welding a carbon steel angle over the joint or removed by the means of using only the angle support.


Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)